Pear Salad – again – Now with Sweet Potato!

I love this salad, I eat it all the time in the winter when pears are in season, and almost every other fresh fruit and vegetable isn’t.  This recipe originally called for carrots, and I tried them every way that I could think of, and Al just didn’t like them no matter what.  Then, when I tried the sweet potato, apple, and orange salad, I had an inspiration!  Use sweet potatoes instead of carrots.  So I got a medium-sized sweet potato, and cut it into matchsticks.  This made a huge amount, so I doubled the recipe, and this time just mixed it all together.  This makes it easier for Al to just spoon out his salad into a bowl, and eat.  I try to make it as easy as possible for him (us) to get our fresh fruits and vegetables.  Al just eats this as is, but I like it on top of baby spinach.

I would have never in a million years thought of eating raw sweet potato, but it is delicious!  Al likes it a lot better than carrots, because it’s a little less crunchy, and I like it because it is just so weird!  I also like this dressing a whole lot, I love cilantro, it has no oil in it, the pears in it make it thick, and it still clings to the pears and the greens.

Pear and Sweet Potato Salad with Cilantro Dressing on Baby Spinach

Dressing
1 bunch of fresh cilantro
2 Pears
2 T. lemon juice
1/2 t. salt
fresh ground black pepper

Blend all ingredients in a blender until liquified.  It works better if you put the cilantro in first.

Salad
4 Pears, quartered and cut into strips
1 medium sweet potato, peeled and cut into matchsticks
8 oz. Feta cheese, crumbled
1 C. walnuts, chopped
Baby Spinach or Mixed Greens

Mix pears, sweet potato, cheese, and nuts together with the dressing.  Serve on baby spinach, mixed greens, or eat plain.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

