Chicken Enchilada Soup

This soup is so easy, and So Good!  Every time I make it, I wonder why I don’t make it more often – (I don’t know why, I should!)  This time I used up all of the rest of the left over turkey from Christmas, and it was delicious.  Now Al is telling me that we need to eat more turkey – LOL.  I’m thinking that next time that I make this, I might use fresh green hot chilies instead of the crushed red, but the crushed chilies are so easy – I’ll see how lazy I’m feeling then….

Chicken Enchilada Soup

Ingredients
1 49 oz can chicken broth
1 1/2 cups celery,  chopped
1 onion,  chopped
1 28 oz can green enchilada sauce
One 29-oz can pumpkin
10 oz cooked boneless skinless lean chicken breast, chopped or shredded
2 C frozen corn
1/2 t crushed red chilies
Optional toppings: shredded cheddar cheese, tortilla chips

Directions
In a large pot, bring broth to a low boil on the stove. Add celery and onion, and simmer for about 5 minutes, until slightly tender.  Stir in enchilada sauce, pumpkin, chicken, corn, and chilies, and mix well.  Return to a low boil, and cook for an additional 3 – 5 minutes.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

