Sweet Potato, Apple, and Orange Salad, Try Number 2

When I made this salad last time, back in October, I grated the sweet potato, and the salad was good, but somehow the grated sweet potato just wasn’t right.  So this time I cut it into matchsticks, and the salad not only tasted better, it Looked better!  I also had 4 navel oranges hanging around that Al thought weren’t sweet enough to eat, and I was starting to crave apples, so I put 4 of them in, too.  The oranges turned out to be sweet enough for this salad, and the sweet potato seemed to be in a good proportion, too.  However,  after looking at this picture, next time I make this I will use red apples for more color.

I just love how the raw sweet potato tastes, it’s crunchy, but not quite as crunchy as a carrot, it’s sweetish and has a nice mild flavor, and if I was served this salad, and I didn’t know that it was sweet potato, I don’t think that I would be able to guess what it was.

Sweet Potato, Apple, and Orange Salad with Garlic Yogurt Dressing

Salad
1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into matchsticks
4 sweet apples, cored, and chopped
4 oranges, peeled, pith removed, and separated into segments

Dressing
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 6 oz carton fat-free plain Greek yogurt
1 teaspoon dried parsley
Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

In a large bowl, toss the sweet potato, apple and orange together.  Mix all dressing ingredients together, and pour over, tossing to mix.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

