Oriental Beef with Eggplant

This recipe is a combination of several similar ones that I have seen on the internet, different types of food that I have eaten in different restaurants over the years, and my favorite veggies.  It has taken me several tries to get it where it is now, and I can’t promise that I won’t adjust it again in the future.  For example, I’m thinking that I will want to put some button mushrooms in it next time.

The soy sauce and the fish sauce are both Very Salty, so be careful when you put these in.  The first time that I made this, it had no flavor at all, and the second time it was Way Too Salty.  I think that I finally have the correct (for us) measurements, so taste test your beef before you add too much!  And please, don’t put any additional salt in, I don’t even put salt in the rice.  Also, this is one that really tastes better after it sits overnight in the fridge, so I try to make it a day ahead.  My only problem with this, is Al likes it so much that he just eats it right out of the pot!

Oriental Beef with Eggplant, Bell Pepper, and Onion on Rice

1 lb extra lean ground beef
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
1 large eggplant, peeled and diced
2 bell peppers, cut into strips
1 onion, diced
8 – 10 chilies, seeded and sliced into matchsticks, to taste
2 – 4 tbsp fish sauce
2 – 4 tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce
1 small bunch fresh basil, chopped
juice of 2 limes

In a large skillet or wok, cook ground beef and garlic until beef is cooked through.  Add eggplant and cook for 5 – 10 minutes until eggplant starts to soften.  Add bell peppers and chilies, cook for about 5 minutes, then add onion and cook for another 5 minutes.  Turn off heat, and add remaining ingredients, tasting for salt levels.  Serve over rice.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

