Touring the Asian Art Museum

On Saturday for Al’s birthday present we got a tour of the Maharaja exhibit at the Asian Art Museum!  We had to set our alarm for 6:30 am, and after giving the cat his daily medicine, we were on the road by 7:30.  We had to drive through dense fog until we hit the Altamont, then it was sunny all the rest of the way.   We made it in plenty of time, and even had an extra 10 minutes to stand in the sun before the museum opened at 10:00.

This tour was given to Al by his friend, Mel, and our tour guide was another friend, Bob, who is a docent at the museum.  He spent 2 1/2 years learning to be a docent, and has since been giving tours for 3 1/2 years.  So he is really knowledgable about everything in the museum, and is also a very interesting speaker.  This exhibit illustrates the history of the Maharajas from the 1300s to the 1920s and has lots of paintings, jewelry (including turban ornaments), clothing, and furniture, including the throne that was put on the elephant for processions.

The exhibit shows how the style of the Maharajas changed from the English influance, and there were some photographs of a Maharaja and his wife by Man Ray!  It was all so interesting and I now know so much more about the history of India.

Then we had lunch in the Peterson room, which has a beautiful patio outside.  The menu featured Indian style food, and was delicious.  I had lamb curry and Al had Fish with curry.  Here are Al and I outside in the patio.

At the Asian Art Museum ready for lunch

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Fun Times and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Touring the Asian Art Museum

  1. Aldubuc says:

    It was a great day by the bay! Nothing like celbrating my October birthday in December with great friends…and getting an education and lunch to boot…although Mary’s cooking puts many restaurants to shame!

Leave a Reply

