Chicken and Sweet Potato Enchiladas

I’ve been cooking a lot with pumpkin, butternut squash, and sweet potatoes this fall and winter – they are all in season, and I love using them in cold weather cooking.  I also sometimes have trouble trying to figure out what in the world I want to cook for the next week’s menus.  I try not to cook things that are similar (like pasta – I Love pasta) together or even from week to week.  So I was looking through my menus last week, trying to decide on a couple of recipes, and I saw a  recipe for enchiladas that used summer squash.  I thought that if I substituted sweet potatoes, and made a few other changes, it would make a good winter meal.

This is Wonderful – it tastes even better than I had imagined.  It makes 2 pans of 6 enchiladas each, enough for 3 meals for Al and I.  If you heat the tortillas in the microwave for about 15 seconds before stuffing and rolling them up, they work a whole lot better, and don’t break up in the pan.  But looking at the picture, I think that I should have asked for baking dishes for Christmas – LOL.  Too late now, it will have to be my birthday!

Chicken and Sweet Potato Enchiladas

for the sauce:
1 diced onion
1 t minced garlic
1 T chili powder
1 t ground cumin
1/2 t crushed red peppers
1 (28-ounce) can diced (or crushed) tomatoes
1 (14 oz) can tomato sauce

Sauté onion and garlic in a large saucepan coated with non-stick cooking spray for 5 minutes over medium heat or until onion is tender. Stir in remaining ingredients, reduce heat, and simmer 30 minutes.

for the enchiladas:
2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
2 chicken breasts, cooked and diced
2 C frozen whole-kernel corn
1 (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
Enchilada Sauce, divided
12  large corn tortillas
2 C (7-8 ounce package) shredded reduced-fat Mexican blend cheese, divided

Preheat oven to 350°. In a large nonstick skillet or wok, coated with cooking spray, cook sweet potatoes over medium-high heat until tender. Remove from heat, and stir in beans, corn, and chicken. Spread 1 cup Enchilada Sauce each in the bottoms of 2 13 x 9-inch baking dishes. Spoon about 1/2 cup sweet potato mixture down center of 1 tortilla; sprinkle with 2 tablespoons cheese, and roll up. Place seam-side down in baking dish. Repeat procedure with remaining tortillas, sweet potato mixture, and cheese. Spread remaining sauce evenly over enchiladas.Cover with foil; bake at 350° for 30 minutes. Uncover; top with remaining cheese.Bake, uncovered, for 10 minutes or until cheese melts.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken and Sweet Potato Enchiladas

  1. meagen says:

    These look amazing, I am absolutely going to make them soon! We LOVE sweet potatos and enchiladas so this is wonderful:-) Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  2. trixfred30 says:

    They look really great!

Leave a Reply

