Curry Chicken with Bananas and Apricots

This is my favorite meal to serve to company, I have served this to just about everyone that I know, and they all love it, without exception, even the picky eaters.  When I made it this time just for Al and me, I used the longer cooking times and the chicken was just falling apart.  We really like it that way, but for company, I will have to remember to use the shorter times.  I want it to look pretty for guests.

I made a change to my recipe this time, too – I used peanut powder instead of peanut butter.  This saves me 145 calories of fat for every 2 Tablespoons substituted for peanut butter.  I heard about this from reading health blogs on the internet.  I think it is what is left over after they press the peanuts for peanut oil.  Some smart person decided that they could sell this as “fat free peanut butter” to health food suckers instead of selling it for pennies on the pound to pet food or fertilizer manufacturers.  I first found this at Trader Joe’s, but when we went back to get more, they didn’t carry it any more.  I found some on the internet, from the PB2 store in Tifton, Georgia.

Curry Chicken with Bananas and Apricots

Ingredients
8 – 10 chicken pieces, skinned with fat removed
1 t salt
4 t garam masala (recipe follows) or curry powder
8 cloves garlic, minced
1 (49 1/2 oz) can chicken broth
1/2 C peanut powder (or 1/3 C peanut butter)
2 t brown sugar
1/2 t crushed red peppers
36 dried apricots
5 ripe bananas
2 T lime juice
1 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped

Directions
Place first 8 ingredients (all except apricots, bananas, lime juice, and cilantro) in a large pot.  Mix well, bring to a boil, and then lower heat to simmer.  Cook, covered, for 1 hour, stirring every 15 – 20 minutes.  Cut each apricot into 3 or 4 slivers, and add to pot.  Cover and cook for 20 – 30 minutes.  Cut the bananas into rounds and add to pot.  Cover and cook for and additional 10 – 15 minutes.  Turn off heat and add lime juice and cilantro.  Serve over rice.

Garam Masala
1 T cardamom
1 T cinnamon
1 t ground cloves
1 T black pepper
2 T cumin
1 T coriander

Directions
Place all spices in a heavy frying pan over medium heat stirring constantly.  When the spices start to smoke and smell good watch carefully, stirring constantly until they are dark brown but not burnt.  Immediately place in a clean dry bowl to cool.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

