Turkey Pumpkin Chili

I’ve been seeing this recipe all over the internet in different versions, and since I LOVE pumpkin in just about everything and I LOVE chili, I decided to make it.  Naturally, I have made my own adjustments for my taste.

Pumpkin Turkey Chili with Corn Bread

OK – this chili is WONDERFUL!!!  You can’t tell from looking or tasting that it has pumpkin in it, but the pumpkin gives it a great kinda creamy body that is really delicious.  However, there are a couple of things that I will change next time.   First, this needs a whole lot more salt that just the couple of shakes that I gave it.  Next time I’m going to use at least a couple of teaspoons.  Also next time I won’t use “no salt” tomatoes, either.  And 4 chilies just aren’t enough.  This time there was absolutely no “kick” to this chili at all.  So next time I’ll use at least 8 or 10 chilies.  Or maybe change the type of chilies.   Al likes the yellowish ones, and usually they work perfectly, but I guess this volume of food just needs more.

But even with the Mild taste and the lack of salt – easily fixed! – this chili is great.  I’m definately making it again.

Ingredients

1 bag dry small white beans
1 pound ground turkey
1 onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, cored, seeded and chopped
4 chilies, seeded and finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes, with their liquid
1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin purée
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
Salt and pepper to taste

Method

Soak beans overnight in a large pot, cover with 5 or 6 inches of water.  The next day, drain and rinse.  Add enough water to cover to three times the volume of beans, add 2 or 3 chopped garlic cloves if you like it – do not add salt, it makes the beans hard.  Bring to a boil, lower heat and simmer for 2 hours or until soft.

When beans are cooked, cook turkey in a large frying pan or wok until white.  Add onion, bell pepper, chilies, and garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until tender, about 5 minutes. Add meat mixture, tomatoes, pumpkin, chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper to the beans and bring to a boil. Add more water if needed, reduce heat to medium low, cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, for another hour.  Ladle chili into bowls and serve.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turkey Pumpkin Chili

  1. Al says:

    The cornbread shown is BEFORE Mary put the honey on it!!

Leave a Reply

