Pumpkin & Cottage Cheese Pasta Casserole

I love pasta!  I’m always on the lookout for more good pasta recipes and this one looked like one I would really like and was easy.  This fall I’m finding more and more that have pumpkin in them, and since I also love pumplin, this one sounded like a winner.  And I’m so glad that I planted Sage in my herb garden.

Sage in the middle, Rosemary on the left, Oregano on the right.

So I tried the pasta, and it turned out really good.  Al loves the crunchy pecans in it.  However, if you didn’t know that it had pumpkin in it, you would never be able to tell from the taste.

Pumpkin and Cottage Cheese Pasta with Fresh Sage

1 pound pasta, such as small shells or elbows
One 15-ounce container fat free cottage cheese
One 15-ounce can pumpkin puree
2 eggs
1/2 cup fat free plain greek yogurt
2 teaspoons salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 cup pecans, roughly chopped
1/2 cup loosely packed fresh sage leaves, finely chopped
2 large garlic cloves, finely chopped
3/4 cup grated Parmesan, divided

Heat  the oven to 375°F. Spray a 9×13-inch baking dish with Pam. Set aside. Cook  pasta for a slightly shorter amount of time than specified by the package. Drain.  In a large bowl, whisk together the cottage cheese,  pureed pumpkin, eggs, yogurt, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and ginger. Stir in the  pasta and coat completely with the pumpkin mixture. Stir in the pecans, sage,  and garlic. Stir in 1/2 cup Parmesan.

Spread  the mixture evenly in the prepared baking dish and sprinkle the remaining 1/4
cup Parmesan over top. Bake uncovered for 35 minutes or until golden brown on  top. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

