Digging out Ugly Iris

When we first moved here, I planted a bunch of different iris along the front of the house.  They were all different colors, and were really pretty in the spring when they bloomed.  Then several years ago, we got our entire yard landscaped by a professional landscape designer.  We asked her to keep the trees, plants, and flowers that we liked and trash the rest and she did a wonderful job.  She dug up all of the iris, and then replanted them in the border along the front of the house, in between the roses and catmint.

There is only one problem – it seems that the healthiest, hardiest iris was the ugly brown one that we never liked, didn’t even know where it came from, and Should Have Dug out and Thrown Away before we re-did the yard.  Now, at least 80% of our iris is this ugly hateful flower.  I would post a picture but I hate it so much that I have never taken one.

So we are replacing this ugly iris by digging out a couple of clumps every fall and planting half a dozen new and Beautiful Iris in its place.  Yesterday, Al and I tackled the next two clumps.  This is so much harder work that you would think.  The iris root is thick and shallow, only just barely under the surface and you would think that you could just pull it out.  WRONG!!!  It is all grown together and entangled and is Extremely Difficult to extract from the ground.  Here are the two clumps that we dug out:

The two HUGE clumps of the ugly Iris ready for the trash!

Then, after 2 hours of Hard Work, much mumbling and cursing, sitting on the wet grass resulting in grass stains on our underwear – I mean Really?, two broken fingernails, and getting mud all over us, the 6 new iris are planted and we are Finished and Done with the Iris until next spring!

All done! 6 new iris ready to bloom next Spring!

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

